Snack Swaps

Since I have adjusted my eating habits this year, I have also adjusted my portion sizes.  With the adjustment in portion sizes, I have noticed an increase in my tendency to snack.  While I typically crave something sweet for a snack, I’ve had to determine some alternatives to keep my snacking more healthy.  Just thought I would share some of my little saving graces when it comes to snacking…

8driedfruitsYou want something sweet…have some dried fruit.  Consuming a handful of dried fruit and drinking a glass of water really fills you up.  Look for no sugar added in order to avoid artificial sweeteners and unnecessary sugar!

mixed-nuts-kernelsYou want something salty…nuts are a must!  Any kind, anytime.  My faves are cashews, pecans, pistachios, and almonds.  If your craving is dictating your portion size, make sure you drink some water to help feel satisfied, because considering the fat and caloric content of nuts, it’s easy to consume too much.

greekyogurt_cathdrYou want something creamy…try greek yogurt.  While this previously had been a craving of mine, I no longer crave creamy things for whatever reason, but when I did, greek yogurt was a good answer.  It was creamy and packed with protein which helped hold me over to the next meal.  And by the way, if you have access to Anderson Erickson dairy products…all other greek yogurts are inferior to that of Anderson Erickson.  If only I could get this in Colorado!

veg and hummusYou want something crunchy…fresh veg and hummus.  While this is another craving I rarely have (I’m more of a sweet or salty craving kind of girl) if there is hummus involved, then I have a hard time stopping.  Which when it comes to fresh vegetables, we should eat up!

-hot-tea-cupYou want something hot…hot tea works for me!  As I type this post, I have water heating on the stove for a mug of cinnamon spice tea.  I know I’m stealing this from Rachael Ray, but YUMMO.  This really is a treat on a cold day!

 

13-11-Smoothie-Card_r02-1

You want something cold…a 1/4 or 1/2 portion of a smoothie with plenty of ice.  Again, this is not normally a craving for me, but smoothies are a great way to get greens, protein, fruit, and/or vegetables.  Be creative!

I regularly keep some kind of nut, dried fruit, and hot tea bags in my desk at work.  These snack options typically hold me over especially after 10:30 in the morning!

-Em

 

 

One thought on “Snack Swaps

Leave a comment